Nominations are open for the Saboteur Awards 2018!

Nominate here

The Saboteur Awards are back! You can nominate in twelve categories covering the span of indie literature, from spoken word to short fiction, via collaborations and hard-to-define works.

The Rules

The rules are simple: one entry per person (or computer! The form is very sensitive – this is the compromise for keeping things anonymous!)

For your entry to count, you need to nominate in a minimum of three categories.

So for instance, if you are a fan of poetry, you should be able to nominate at least a poetry pamphlet, magazine, and publisher. Ditto, if you are into spoken word, you could nominate at least in the best spoken word performer, show, and regular night categories. And so forth. You can of course nominate in all twelve categories too!

The works of current Sabotage Reviews editors are not eligible.

Writing the same name in each category is a quick and easy way to get your entry disqualified.

Please help us to identify the works you are nominating by including details such as location (if it’s a spoken word regular night) or author/editor names for books… Sometimes a lot of things have the same name!

Nominations close on 31st March, and the shortlist will be announced on 9th April. The results will be announced on 19th May 2018 after a two-day festival. You can buy earlybird tickets here.

This year’s Saboteur Awards are made possible thanks to a Grant for the Arts from Arts Council England.

Editor’s Choice

Like last year, the shortlist will consist of the 4 most nominated works/people in each category as well as 1 editor’s choice. Here’s which editor will be choosing for which category:

Best Poetry Pamphlet – Becky Varley-Winter
Best Short Story Collection – Richard T. Watson
Best Novella – Richard T. Watson
Best Wildcard – James Webster
Best Collaborative Work – Claire Trevien
Best Spoken Word Performer – James Webster
Best Spoken Word Show – Sally Jack
Best Regular Spoken Word Night – Sally Jack
Best Anthology – Claire Trevien
Best Magazine – Karen Goodwin
Best Reviewer – Karen Goodwin
Most Innovative Publisher – Becky Varley-Winter

More answers to FAQs can be found on the dedicated website.

Nominate here